Community Worldbuilding

This forum is for picking apart tricky issues facing any authors in the community. Word choice, action scenes, dialoguing, or plot development. If something isn't working for you, put it up here and see what your fellow community members can make of it. Try to keep examples short and to the point as much as possible.

Community Worldbuilding

Unread postby Calinero » April 5th, 2010, 12:04 am

I've never done anything quite like this before, but I've seen it done on another forum or two. As best as I could tell, no one has done it here already, so I though I might start one up.

I've noticed that a lot of people here are seemingly intelligent, thoughtful, and very creative. With that in mind, I'm curious to see what sort of setting we could come up with if we all put our heads together and gave input. Think of it as a sort of World-Building Quest, if you will--a setting created out of a group opinion. The most obvious candidate would be to create a fantasy setting or science fiction setting, but that's open to debate.

If you guys would be interested, just post here and let me know. Then we can get cracking, and see what results. Who knows? If the setting ends up being cool, maybe we can all write our own stories set in it. That might be fun.
Calinero

Re: Community Worldbuilding

Unread postby Darkandus » April 5th, 2010, 12:08 am

Sure, I'll throw something in.
Spoiler: show
Darkandus

Unread postby Tempest Kitsune » April 5th, 2010, 12:09 am

First we need to establish a setting. Are we gonna go for high fantasy, sci-fi, a comic-book type world, or what?